Workshop  /  01. Juli 2019  -  03. Juli 2019

Non-Kolmogorov Turbulence and Associated Phenomena

Atmospheric and oceanic turbulence and their effects on imaging and laser systems have been described, since 1940s, with a very simple model of Kolmogorov, Obukhov and Corrsin. In recent years though, the area of optical turbulence studies has experienced a sort of renaissance. This is due to the re-examination of the Kolmogorov model. The so-called non-Kolmogorov turbulence (NKT) encompasses all power spectrum models of the fluctuations of the refractive index showing either different power laws than the classical Kolmogorov -11/3 or that include anisotropy or both. Additionally, attention has been given to the description of the turbulent spectrum outside of the inertial range, for scales larger than the outer scale and also for scales smaller than the inner scale. At the same time, novel descriptions of underwater oceanic turbulence, driven not only by temperature but also by salinity differences, have been proposed.

The aim of the workshop is to bring together disparate communities working on similar problems from different perspectives: atmospheric optics and meteorology communities, oceanographers, and fluid dynamicists. Additionally, goal is to answer the following questions: what are the characteristics of NKT? Can it be modelled faithfully? Can it be measured and how? How often does it arise and in which conditions? From the application point of view, what are the quantifiable effects of NKT on laser and imaging systems?

The workshop will have a structure conducive to exchanges between individual participants, panel discussions and synergetic confluences. Three half-day splinter sessions are foreseen where the participants will be asked to discuss the way forward for the three main themes of the workshop: measurement techniques, simulation and modelling of turbulence, and the effects of non-Kolmogorov turbulence on light propagation. Additionally, tutorial presentations will be given by experts in these fields:Dr. Detlef Sprung (Fraunhofer IOSB), Dr. Sukanta Basu (Delft University of Technology), Dr. Italo Toselli (Fraunhofer IOSB) and Dr. Melissa Beason (University of Central Florida).


The following, non-exhaustive list shows the main topics of the workshop:

  • turbulence outside the inertial range
  • premises for deviations from -11/3 slope in the inertial range
  • anisotropy
  • oceanic turbulence
  • outer scale models
  • measurement techniques
  • modelling of turbulence
  • computational fluid dynamics simulations
  • atmospheric and underwater light propagation


Scientific Organising Committee (SOC):

  • Szymon Gladysz (Fraunhofer IOSB)
  • Sukanta Basu (Delft University of Technology)
  • Italo Toselli (Fraunhofer IOSB)
  • Melissa Beason (University of Central Florida).


Local Organising Committee (LOC):

  • Karin Stein (Fraunhofer IOSB)
  • Szymon Gladysz (Fraunhofer IOSB)
  • Detlev Sprung (Fraunhofer IOSB)
  • Christian Eisele (Fraunhofer IOSB)
  • Julia Hofmann (Fraunhofer IOSB)


For more information or any queries regarding this workshop, please contact:

Travel Grants

It is expected that a limited number of travel grants will be available to eligible participants to enable them to attend the workshop.

Registration form should be used to apply for a travel grant.



  • Jens Bange, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, Germany
  • Sukanta Basu, TU Delft, The Netherlands
  • Melissa Beason, Fraunhofer IOSB and University of Central Florida, USA
  • Raphael Bellossi, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Jeremy Bos, Michigan Technological University, USA
  • Mikhail Charnotskii
  • Karin Stein, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Christian Eisele, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Gustavo Funes, Universidad de los Andes, Chile
  • Szymon Gladysz, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Robert Handler, George Mason University, USA
  • Stephanie Heikamp, TNO, The Netherlands
  • Julia Hofmann, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • K. Peter Judd, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
  • Andrey Kanaev, US Office of Naval Research Global
  • Thomas Kociok, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Olga Korotkova, University of Miami, USA
  • Andrew Lambert, UNSW Canberra, Australia and Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Vladimir Lukin, VE Zuev Institute of Atmospheric Optics, Russia
  • Donald McGaughey, Royal Military College of Canada, Canada
  • Gökçe Muhsin Caner, TED University, Turkey
  • Felipe Olivares, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, Chile
  • Dario Gabriel Perez, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Valparaiso, Chile
  • Sergio Restaino, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
  • Max Segel, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Artem Shikhovtsev, Institute of Solar-Terrestrial Physics, Russia
  • Detlev Sprung, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Italo Toselli, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Carmen Ullwer, Fraunhofer IOSB
  • Alexander van Eijk, TNO, The Netherlands
  • Miranda van Iersel, University of Maryland, USA
  • Marie-Thérèse Velluet, Onera, France
  • Mikhail Vorontsov, University of Dayton, USA
  • Andreas Zepp, Fraunhofer IOSB